Skip to content

The It’s-It Milkshake [Recipes]

August 11, 2009

Disclaimer: My relationship with the kitchen is a lot like my mom’s relationship with the internet.  Nothing ever feels feels quite as comfortable as it should, so I tread cautiously, hope not to screw anything up, and leave immediately after I’ve accomplished what I first set out to do.  Over time,  I’ve slowly embraced the little pockets of goodness hidden within this mysterious culinary realm, but I’ve done so in baby steps.  With that in mind, you should approach my cooking advice the same way I approach all those forwarded email chains from my mom, and take the following with a massive grain of… wait, what’s that spice called again?

__________________________________________________________________________

The It’s-It Milkshake
A Dreaming About Naps’ Original Recipe
__________________________________________________________________________

Background: At 11:30pm, craving a milkshake but in no state to drive and get one, I desperately turned to a nearby liquor store for answers.  What resulted in that next hour was an entirely unprecedented breakthrough in modern dessert-making science.

Ingredients: One of the great things about the It’s-It Milkshake is that all the ingredients are conveniently found at any SF-based liquor store.  The only downside to this is that all the ingredients are found at a liquor store.  They are as follows:

CIMG0123 CIMG0124 CIMG0119

Directions:

  • Throw everything into a blender (you may need to break the It’s-It into smaller pieces).
  • Activate blender, varying time and speed based on how chunky (or creamy) you like your milkshakes.  Though texture may vary, crazy-deliciousness will remain constant.

CIMG0121 CIMG0126 CIMG0128

I probably should have included a picture of the end-product, but I totally forgot to take it.  Suffice to say, I was way more excited about drinking The Milkshake than taking its picture.  Maybe I’ll remember that part the next time I make it, which, according to webMD, should be absolutely never.

Enjoy, and please drink responsibly.  :]

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 12:21 pm

    did you submit this on “this is why you’re fat” yet?

  2. August 11, 2009 1:03 pm

    Wow. I did, actually.

    It took some time for me to go through with it though. The pride takes a small hit when you submit your favorite dessert — one you’ve made on multiple occasions — to a site called “This Is Why You’re Fat.”

    But not really- it would be funny/awesome if they used it. And if it isn’t decadent enough for them, then I’ll just do what everyone else does and add bacon.

  3. sally permalink
    August 11, 2009 4:25 pm

    i think you’re missing an ingredient here… it has a little something to do with taking pictures.

  4. Inbal permalink
    August 11, 2009 9:37 pm

    i had no idea there was a website ‘this is why you’re fat’. perhaps you’re compensating for the fact that we haven’t had mom meals cooked with cream or butter in years, if ever. seems like a crazy-delicious idea; not sure if i’ll ever be in a state to want to create that, though. i’m more into ‘savory’ than sweet.

  5. Susannah permalink
    August 12, 2009 4:09 pm

    TAL!

    By far the best blog I have ever read! Please continue, I am now almost done with work and before reading your blog thought I was going to die of boredom.

    I just don’t know how I feel about taking an It’s-It out of it’s original cookie form. The It’s-It has been in it’s cookie form since 1928, as you can see in it’s website. http://www.itsiticecream.com/

    Sus

    p.s Is there any way I could get the blog in Newsletter form sent to my home? Just asking.

  6. hen permalink
    August 12, 2009 6:43 pm

    what kind of alcohol would complement this recipe…vodka? bailey’s? jack? all 3?

Leave a Reply

