Skip to content

Hello. Goodbye?

July 28, 2009

I started a blog today.  I’m not sure when I’ll finish.

Though, according to a report I vaguely recall, it may happen soon:  I read that nearly 80% of all new blogs are abandoned within the first month; somewhere in the millions have been left for dead after just one post.  Sobering numbers in their own right, downright discouraging considering they apply to pretty much every other short-lived hobby I’ve ever picked up in my life.  Historical trends, to summarize, are not on my side.

Of course, that’s just one way of looking at it (something about empty glasses of water).  Consider this:  If I post tomorrow, I will have already out-blogged like 2 million people.  And if I post again one month after that, I’ve basically catapulted myself into the top 20% of the world’s most prolific bloggers.  Just like that.  You have to admit it all sounds sort of impressive.  Yeah, there may be a few holes in my rationale, but I’m okay with that.  Perspective,  however skewed it may be,  is the MSG sprinkled in my life-fried-rice.  And I love fried-rice.

I started a blog today.  I have no clue where it’s going, or how long it will last, but I’ve managed to convince myself that it’s a good idea¹.

Hope you think so too.

___________________________________________________
¹As far as impetuses (impetii?) go, it didn’t hurt to have a few friends recently start their own blogs.²
²Is it obvious already? Okay, I’ll say it:  I love footnotes (apologizing now for future excessive and/or improper use thereof).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2009 3:46 pm

    Okay, one? You should definitely keep blogging. You have a fun style and I want to read more. Two? Love fried rice. Had a major craving today and took a detour to Rice Boxx to feed it, immediately before working out, might I add…I’m not sure if this is considered to be counterproductive or excellent planning. Three? I would be the Footnote Queen if I knew how to create them on my blog. So far I’ve just been using a lonely postscript at the bottom of my posts, or asterisks.

    Also: thanks for the stats. I didn’t know all that about the 80% who give up, etc. My more-than-one-month run at blogging suddenly feels like quite the accomplishment.

    I look forward to reading more…

  2. Sally permalink
    July 28, 2009 4:07 pm

    massively disappointed that i didn’t get to comment “first!”

  3. Tohm permalink
    July 28, 2009 6:08 pm

    this is already hilarious. on what will he blog? the possibilities are endless.

  4. Victoria permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:05 pm

    haha yeahhh the blog train! i think you should really continue…i’ll read! very interesting stats… i’m pretty shocked i’m still going too…looks like i’m in the top 20%. you should definitely join this elite group too! haha 🙂

  5. July 28, 2009 9:44 pm

    stopwriting my eyes hurt ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

  6. July 28, 2009 11:04 pm

    You forgot to mention one thing – this isn’t your first rodeo. That’s like trying to compare your average rookie stats to Michael Jordan’s first comeback season. REMEMBER THE DOJO.

  7. July 28, 2009 11:05 pm

    PS, nice website Godman. I wasted 5 seconds of my road trip clicking on your name.

  8. myha permalink
    July 29, 2009 11:51 am

    too good to be true. you wouldn’t believe my excitement. (!!!!)

  9. hen permalink
    July 31, 2009 12:01 pm

    dude you’re already behind.

  10. Inbal permalink
    August 6, 2009 9:35 am

    is there any way you’d link to dojo? ken makes a good point re: stats. i love ‘life-fried-rice’ and footnotes, for sure. you’re off to a good start!

  11. sheilaparas permalink
    August 7, 2009 11:18 am

    congrats on your new blog! you’re off to a great start.
    and thanks for visiting, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

